“The Celebration” – A Haibun

Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

Welcome to my contribution to my weekly #Poetry Challenge, where you can write your own Haiku, Tanka, or Haibun using the prompt words of wish & magic. Remember, synonyms are encouraged.

This week, I decided to write a Haibun with a Tanka, called “The Celebration.”

Both words have many connotations. Depending on how you use your synonyms you can alter the meaning of your prose & poetry in many ways. Don’t be afraid to experiment with synonyms. Sometimes subtle meanings pack the most punch in your poetry. Play with the words for different reactions.

The best poetry has layers of meaning.

Image credit: Babble.com


Image credit: Imgflip.com

“The Celebration”

As the sun kisses my face, I reach my arms toward the brightness of the pale blue sky. The festival is nigh. Today is Earth Day, and I feel mother Gaia firm and fertile under the crusty snow beneath my…

View original post 222 more words

3 thoughts on ““The Celebration” – A Haibun

Leave a Reply

