Halifax Chronicle Herald Buys Transcontinental Newspapers

Diane Tibert

This afternoon, I was informed Halifax Chronicle Herald purchased 28 publications (including one online) owned by Transcontinental. The CBC online article stated it bought all of their news outlets in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.

As a genealogy columnist for The Citizen Record, Amherst, NS, I’m unsure of what the future holds for me and other freelance columnists.

During many changes years ago, Transcontinental presented columnists with a new contract that, if signed, would make their original contract with the publication null and void. I ignored the new contract, and they didn’t pester me to sign it. To this day, I work under the original contracts I signed when I began Roots to the Past in 2005. The purchase by Halifax Chronicle Herald may force me to do the unthinkable: end the column. That is, if they try to force me to…

View original post 542 more words

2 thoughts on “Halifax Chronicle Herald Buys Transcontinental Newspapers

Leave a Reply

