The Baileys Prize Shortlist – who the authors are and where they’ve come from…



The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist of six – announced this week –  come from three continents, four countries and five publishers. Here they are (and Granta must be feeling pretty pleased with itself):

  • Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ from Nigeria: Stay With Me (Canongate, a debut novel);

  • Naomi Alderman, from the UK: The Power (Viking, her fourth novel—she won the Orange Prize for New Writers in 2006);

  • Linda Grant, from the UK: The Dark Circle (Virago, her sixth novel —she won the prize in 2000 and was longlisted in 2008);

  • C.E. Morgan, from the United States: The Sport of Kings (4th Estate, her second novel);

  • Gwendoline Riley, from the UK: First Love (Granta, her sixth novel);

  • Madeleine Thein, from Canada: Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Granta, her third novel).

The winner will be announced on June 7 at The Royal Festival Hall, and receive £30,000…

View original post 101 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s