What am I bid?

Tallis Steelyard

adonis

There are auctioneers and then there are auctioneers. Even as I wrote that sentence I realised it didn’t make a great deal of sense. What I’m trying to say is that you have some auctioneers who know their trade, work at it for years picking up the tricks and slowly building up a following. I would hold up as an example Yass Tileforth.

On the other had there are auctioneers who try to make money quickly, often using flamboyant techniques that don’t work quite as well as they hoped. Here I ought to mention the bold Master Bullifant.

Bullifant didn’t appear in Port Naain, he burst upon the scene. His accent and mannerisms are those of one born in the city, but he never followed any of the normal routes into the auctioneers’ profession, and nobody seemed to have any real knowledge of what he had done previously. I rather…

View original post 1,052 more words

One thought on “What am I bid?

  1. I always enjoy these, and the new font makes them a pleasure to read now. I love the names of the characters. They conjure up images worthy of Dickens.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

Leave a Reply

