Do you have a minute? Sorry for the Inconvenience.

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Tough Love Lessons
from an Empathy Deficit Society

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
from the Walking a Mile Series – Part I

“There, but for the grace of God, go I”

Not my problem, not my business?

Our society seems to be rapidly moving to a state where it is empathy-averse. The next few posts are my attempt at trying to change that sad reality in some small fashion by telling my personal story. It is time

Found HEREFound HERE

Many who are still able to care what happens to others take the “wait and see” approach, hoping perhaps that some of the problems will resolve without their involvement.

I have noticed it most overtly in response to current political actions of late, but I have always seen it most pervasively in the continuing lack of Mental Health Awareness.

That attitude troubles me greatly.  We need each…

View original post 2,340 more words

6 thoughts on “Do you have a minute? Sorry for the Inconvenience.

  1. I absolutely love this, Kate. Empathy is diminishing. As a teacher, I hear stories about elementary school children that just don’t have it. By then, it might be too late. They’re at the the crossroads of doing what is right or following a different path. Thank goodness I read-aloud books like Charlotte’s Web and have long, deep conversations with my preschoolers. That’s where empathy needs to start.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I totally agree, Jennie – the earlier kids learn to empathize, the more ingrained the lesson. Certain books are a great way to encourage young children to think about the effects of their words and actions – *especially* if they haven’t yet been exposed to how it feels personally. As we grow older it’s more difficult – tho’ not impossible – to learn to empathize without having to be personally affected by something similar.

      KATE: Thanks a million for reblogging Part-I of my personal story.
      xx,
      mgh

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

