Remembering

Remembering

A family get together

Or a couple of hours sitting in a coffee shop

Are never spent without a mention of you

Remembering, we laugh over the funny things

You did or said

We grumble about things promised

But never done

Or old arguments played over again

As only siblings can

We talk about the bitterness of our loss

And even after all this time

Still cannot comprehend

That we will not see you again

This firecracker persona

That we had known

From the moment we were born

The person who had memories

Of us before we had memories to share

Gone

You left us all a memento

To remember you by

But it wasn’t necessary

As we could not and will not forget

We share a smile and hugs all round

Make our excuses to leave

With promises of meeting soon

Knowing that there will always be

A place set for you

At the table and

In our hearts

 

© Kate McClelland 2015

Picture from Pixabay

53 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. Kate, I cried when I read this. Don’t know why. Maybe I’m missing my dad. Maybe I’m wishing my one sister would start talking to me again. Guess I’m feeling loss. But nothing is ever really lost, is it? Just obscured by overwhelming emotion. Such a lovely poem. Hugs, dear friend 💚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Awww Tina, that’s such a lovely thing to say thank you. Some people will think the poem’s a bit sentimental but nothing wrong with that. :0) I hope you felt a bit better afterwards.
      I wrote it when my Mum had just lost another sister and after the funeral I was listening to the stories ‘remember when..’ & they were saying to each other things like ‘Where did the time go?’ ‘We thought we had years left’ ‘Why do we only meet a funerals now? We must get together sometime’. Yet within a couple of days it was back to the same as before. Families eh?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. True, Kate, remorse can be short-lived. But grief goes deep and can be pervasive and all-consuming. I sometimes wonder if it isn’t grief that prevents us acting on remorse…

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much Debs. It was after my Mum lost another sister. It was after the funeral when everyone was telling stories. The big one that hit me was when my Uncle said ‘Where did the time go? I thought we had years left’ – that just slayed me. Thanks again Debs xx

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You just gave me goosebumps. Where did the time go – a phrase used all too often by many, including myself. Thanks for sharing your heart and your family. ❤ xo

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Sally you are so very sweet. Thank you for your comments, that was very kind of you.
      I wrote this in 2015 when my Aunt died. I was watching the surviving siblings talk and the most poignant one was my uncle who said ‘where did all the time go? I thought we had years left’ It just bowled me over.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Kate, I agree with Pete that this would be a touching poem to be read at funerals and memorial services – or included in the keepsake program. Have you investigated getting it published in one of those “grief” anthologies or shared on the support sites for those who are dealing with loss?

    This is SO much more moving than many I’ve run across on a similar theme – while it encourages the survivors to remain in better contact in the future – without adding to their grief.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really nice. love your poetry. Concise; as opposed to my verbosity.
    My father just died at age 101. We were always at logger-heads and he was a very selfish and self- centered man.

    My wife and I moved in with him 18 months ago to take care of him in his final days. He wanted to die at home in his own house and his own bed. I gave him that gift.

    And even though we had a tough relationship, there is still a person gone missing, a missing place at the table and a life consigned to a little box containing a small pile of ashes. Most people forget that life is simply an idiotic and futile waste of worry and strife. Or as I once heard from an inspirational speaker: ” Spending time worrying about the future, is only interest paid ahead of time on a debt that never comes due.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you very much, I really appreciate your comments. I’m sorry to hear of your father’s death. You did what you could to fulfil his last wish and succeeded. I’m sure he was very grateful for that. I did smile at your last line, that is quite true, yet we still do it.
      Best wishes and my condolences to you and your family
      Kate x

      Like

  4. Pingback: Remembering | SEO
  5. This is a very touching poem. I could really relate to the idea that you can never completely understand why you can’t see your loved one again, even though it is a fact. Thanks for sharing. I have a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to look? Wishing you a good Thursday, Sam 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

