Smoking: Additional reasons why it’s SO hard to quit

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Nicotine and
self-medication

NOT what you think this post is going to be about!

by Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Another post in the Walking A Mile in Another’s Shoes Series

It’s National Cancer Prevention Month!
American Institute for Cancer Research

Found HERE

A relatively new study on nicotine and self medication (linked below in the Related Content) prompted me to revisit the topic of smoking.

Why do so many of us continue to do it?

WHY does it seem to be so difficult to put those smokes down — despite the black-box warnings that now come on every pack sold in the USA?

Science rings in

The link between self-medication and smoking really isn’t news to me, by the way, but some scientific validation is always reassuring.

An article I published early-ish in 2013 can be found HERE – where I discussed the relationship between…

View original post 2,918 more words

22 thoughts on “Smoking: Additional reasons why it’s SO hard to quit

  1. A well-balanced and informed article about something close to my own heart. I was a ‘heavy’ smoker for forty years. Not only was I a smoker, I was a determined and deliberate smoker. I not only smoked, I smoked the strongest cigarettes I could buy, and smoked them anywhere and everywhere.
    In 2012, I decided to stop smoking. My reason had nothing to do with longevity, scientific information, or peer pressure. It was simply financial. The tax on cigarettes had finally succeeded in pricing them out of my reach, on a retirement income. So I switched to electronic vaping. No cancerous chemicals, no odours, and more importantly, a mere fraction of the cost of real cigarettes.
    So I didn’t give up nicotine, to which I confess to still being addicted. But I took the best option available for me, and have never had a cigarette since.

    Funnily enough, it is the trappings of being a smoker that I miss more than the actual cigarettes. Filling my collection of Zippo lighters with fuel, changing the wicks and flints. Looking at the huge collection of ashtrays, gathered from all around the world, now stored away in boxes. But I never claim to not be a smoker. It was a part of me for too long, and still resides in my life, albeit in a much cheaper, and safer, electronic form.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Pete, but WOW – I have never heard from anyone that they missed filling Zippo lighters, etc. – thought a few do miss the ashtrays. In fact, most say they’re glad they’re no longer scouring the house for their Bic lighters – lol – and some still find them in the oddest places after they quit (which triggers their cravings for a day or too, they say).

      Which vape system do you recommend?
      xx,
      mgh

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We use the Kangertech system.
        The fluid (made by anyone) is very cheap online. £1 a bottle, and it lasts for up to three days. This vape machine is big enough to satisfy, but small enough to be discreet. It charges via USB only though. Here’s a link.
        http://kangeronline.com/products/kanger-evod-mega-starter-kit?variant=1032001244
        We have three each of these, in various colours. That way, we always have spare batteries.
        I kept all my Zippos as a reminder. They are an example of perfectly simple engineering.
        Best wishes, Pete.

        Like

      2. Thanks, Pete, I’ll check it out to see if we can get it in America.

        I’m sure you would anyway, but hang on to those ashtrays. I’ve read that they’re going to be worth a fortune in the collector’s market eventually. Not sure about the Zippos – it may depend upon the continued availability of fluid.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Thanks Pete. I have never smoked, but I come from a family of smokers. Some have given up over the years. Some have stayed non smokers and others have given up then started again then given up ( a bit like yo-yo dieting) They have different reasons for giving up – cost, new baby, new job with a smoking ban etc., It’s not just giving up the nicotine, but as you say Pete, it’s the rituals of smoking which are also part of the habit of smoking.

      Like

      1. After a meal, answering the phone, driving in the car, going out for a drink. All triggers that make it part of life, as well as just actually smoking. It is a culture, as well as an addiction.
        Best wishes, Pete.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks again, Kate, for the reblog. I hope you know how much I appreciate it.

    I think a lot of people are concerned about the price, as in Pete’s comment – but he is unusual in that he vapes full nicotine vs. others who’ve told me they gradually cut back until they’re smoking air. For them it’s sort of a fidget – it’s the tactile/kinesthetic habit they miss more than the nicotine, and not being able to puff on something is a distraction they avoid by vaping.

    Pete sounds most like someone who smokes for a chemical focus hit, doesn’t he?
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 2 people

      1. lol – comparative only in their siren songs. I read somewhere that nicotine was actually MORE addictive than heroin in that regard, but I’m not sure of the credibility of the source.

        These vape folks certainly have earned the money they are making, IMHO – they are providing a wonderful service to smokers and non-smokers alike.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I used to have an off-licence (liquor store) many years ago. I did wine-tasting courses, and found that I only liked the high-cost premium whites too. Whereas with red wine, I could drink almost anything. So I stuck with that, and for many years I was known as ‘Merlot Pete’! Nowadays, my red of choice is South African Pinotage. That said, I will happily drink anything coloured red!

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I don’t follow wine blogs or sites. I have had over thirty years experience of red wine drinking to set my standards. Supermarkets in the UK have great wine these days. No need to pay too much for any wine now.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

