Get our voices out there!

Two Angels and a Black Dog

I was reading Anonymously Autistic I found myself nodding furiously while reading her “I want to Encourage Everyone to Write”. At first, I believed that autism must also be a mental illness, so closely many of her posts have resonated with me. After I commented on a post I was grateful Anonymously set me straight. Unlike me, I’m sure many of you know that autism is not a mental illness. It is, in fact, a lifelong developmental condition.

I have since discovered, from blogs, that many chronic and permanent health issues have some similarities of experience. Not due to diagnosis or symptoms but because:

• How people not suffering from the condition respond to us, in the media or in personal interactions.
• How we feel and respond to our health issue, that can be devastating and all-consuming

This is why I’ve had two guests write about their experiences…

View original post 308 more words

3 thoughts on “Get our voices out there!

Leave a Reply

