What Type of Home am I Leaving for My Children?

Sumyanna Writes

fontcandy-2

It’s not easy
Being beneath
The boot of someone
Perhaps, you have never known this
And for that, I am grateful
But in many cases
In many times
The crushing is not deserved
Nor is it just.
I remember the time
I held my son for my first time
Being kept in the hospital
After surgery
The nurse, it seems
Did not like my religion.
When I asked
That my son
Not be fed formula,
He returned to my beside
Belly full
Because she held
Power over me
And I could do nothing
And when I asked
Doubled over
With tears in my eyes
For pain medication
Which should have been given,
She refused
During the entire length of her shift.
We brave this you see,
Prejudice
We know – deep inside
That this is not the face
Of every person we meet
But we know the truths
Of inequality

View original post 201 more words

One thought on “What Type of Home am I Leaving for My Children?

Leave a Reply

