Bitter Cold & Bus Shelters

It was very cold today. I was standing at the bus stop after missing my bus (of course) . Funny how you never miss the bus when the weather is lovely, but throw down gale-force winds and buckets of rain – bus sails passed when you’re 20 yards from the stop and you’re too cold to run!
The wind was so bitter – it wrote a book about it!
Why do bus shelters no longer ‘shelter’ people?
They’ve gone from sturdy concrete four walled with a roof, to Perspex glass suspended between poles to what now appears to be one Perspex wall with part of a roof attached and a seat that a child of four would break if they dare sit on it. It looks like what I had left from a Lego kit after I’d built the ‘Death Star’ (yes, I know there shouldn’t be any bits left over – but as I said to the child that pointed this out – it’s not supposed to be ‘complete’)
I stood at the bus ‘shelter’ dithering in the rain and gales being plastered in the face with the last leaves dragged from the resisting trees and empty crisp packets for twenty minutes.
I would have been more sheltered if I’d had a bin bag wrapped around me and stood under the shower while someone held a hairdryer set to ‘full’ on my face!
When the bus arrived I was so cold I could barely get my glove off to get the bus ticket out of my pocket and the driver ‘tutted’ at me as if I was some sort of deadbeat sloth.
Got to work, my hair looked like it had been part dried in a wind turbine and then shoved through a thicket hedge. I had to sit there all day with a head like Ronald McDonald’s neglected illegitimate daughter!
Luckily I had access to a kettle, Early Grey teabags and a warm office to thaw out in.
Bring on the bus ride home!

bus-986477__340

Picture by Pixabay

17 thoughts on “Bitter Cold & Bus Shelters

  1. Sounds perfectly awful. If I’m recalling correctly we’ve always jus had the flimsy glass bus shelters with metal seats, that is if there were seats. I remember many years ago coming across one shelter that actually had heat. Hope you had a better trip home.

    Like

      1. Glad to hear the ride home was a little better. When I was reading your post it took me back to the days when I had to take several buses to and from work in frigid temps. Somtimes it was so cold I wanted to cry😢 but couldn’t summon the energy. All I could do was stand there with teeth chattering, stomping my feet wishing I could be indoors. Ah memories 😄 knock on wood I won’t revisit that situation.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I spent almost twelve years using buses to and from work in central London. I once asked a bus inspector why bus shelters no longer offered shelter. He told me that it was for ‘public safety’. It seems that they are of the opinion that if shelters are fully enclosed, then people do things in them other than wait for buses.
    From his account, they would be used as toilets, places to inject drugs, deal drugs, have sex, or rob or intimidate others waiting there. All this could be done outside of the gaze of anyone passing by, so they were ‘opened up’.

    I thought he might have a point, given what goes on in alleys and side streets in London. But that didn’t help me brave the icy winds along Hampstead Road in Camden, as I waited for that 29 or 24.

    Out here in rural Norfolk, they still have the small ‘cottage’ bus shelters in many villages. Then again, the buses are so rare, you have to set up camp for a while, until they turn up!
    Great stuff, Kate.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww I love those little rural bus stops! I suppose they really need them as you’d freeze to death before the bus turned up! It was bad enough waiting 20 minutes. I looked like a human popsicle! Thanks Pete

    Like

  4. I’m sorry Kate about that crappy weather day you painted so poignantly, but I had to laugh at ‘a head like Ronald McDonald’s illegitimate daughter’ LOL 🙂 Hope tomorrow is better!!! Oh, I’d have loved to see a picture of the aftermath LOL ❤ xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for reblogging Pete’s guest post, me! I enjoyed your imagery and whimsy for proper bus stops. My experiences have never been positive. Does anyone have something good happen to them while waiting at the bus stop?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome Cindy.
      Thanks so much for reading that little piece very kind of you to comment :0)
      Not very many good things at bus stops unfortunately, I tend to get accosted by drunks, beggars, people who want to tell me their life stories (sometimes this is nice though). Rain, snow, freezing temperatures and very occasionally blazing sun. I even got ‘mugged’ by a little old lady once!
      But needs must as the devil drives as they say, so it’ll be bussing it or Shank’s Pony for now :0)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

