Amateur dramatics

Tallis Steelyard

a_scene_from_troilus_and_cressida_-_angelica_kauffmann

The turn of the year always brings memories. You think back across the years and remember the people who are no longer with us. For me the end of the year is largely focussed around the Society of Minor Poets.

Now you might wonder why I, the leading poet of my generation, belong to the society of minor poets. Indeed I am occasionally asked. The answer is simple. When I was still a very young man, just pushing the frail craft of my talent out onto the great ocean that is poetry, it was the Society of Minor Poets that welcomed me, nurtured me and even, from time to time, fed me. Not only that but in all candour I could never afford the bar bills and other expenses that go with membership of more prestigious organisations.

Amongst other events, every year the Society puts on an afternoon and evening…

View original post 928 more words

2 thoughts on “Amateur dramatics

Leave a Reply

