16 and Pregnant: A Journal Entry

Crystaleyes20

journal-blog-1998

In 1997 I was 16 years old and pregnant. I knew my life and focus needed to change in order to provide my unborn child the life she deserved. Walking the halls of a high-school while pregnant means you are a target of much judgment and unsolicited remarks from not only classmates, but teachers, secretaries, and administrators as well. Walking those halls, sitting in the small desks, failing gym because I could not bring myself to wear a bathing suit (and teachers refusing to make an accommodation) all sharpened my inner strength and helped me build a foundation for trials later in life. I even had a teacher state that it was a shame I was pregnant because he would be supporting my child and me for the next 18 years because I would end up on welfare (which for the record I did not do). An administrator even encouraged…

View original post 448 more words

One thought on “16 and Pregnant: A Journal Entry

Leave a Reply

